Reviews



Visiting parents and taking Dad to Hospital - Rating 5/5

I was warmly greeted by Martin on my arrival even though I had arrived later than I head expected. Martin kindly took my baggage to my room. Which was well presented, clean tidy and well equipped. I had plenty of time to freshen up before popping down to the bar for a drink. After a good night\'s sleep in a comfy bed, continental breakfast was served in the resturant area. I would recommend staying hear to friends and family as this is a friendly comfortable well priced, well appointed location if visiting Worcester area.Thank you Martin and your staff for a great stay.

Reviewer:Kim Purser | Sat 10th Sep 2016


General.- Rating 5/5

Although from the outside it could do with some tlc don\'t let that put you off. We had a lovely stay the room was comfortable with a extremely huge bed. We picked the continental breakfast which was good. Would go back for a longer stay.

Reviewer:Edward Marie | Tue 6th Sep 2016


very cosy, very pleasant! - Rating 4/5

Greeted by Martin, what a nice guy. Shown us to rooms to choose from and they were both great. Clean, comfortable and catered for my gluten free requirements on short notice! Lovely place

Reviewer:Gary Bevis | Sun 4th Sep 2016


Very good breakfast and pet friendly - Rating 4/5

Last minute booking and not disappointed. Old fashioned pub, warm welcome to us and our two dogs. Lovely room and shower but disappointing that the sink had no hot water. Breakfast was lovely and Martin the owner was very hospitable.

Reviewer:Elizabeth Kemp | Sun 28th Aug 2016


Very hospitable and comfortable - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Walter de Cantelupe Inn was very comfortable and the food was excellent.Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable.A bath and shower over the bath were both provided.Everyone that we met in the inn was very friendly.We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Linda Brooks | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

A comfortable and homely room, lovely food and my dog and I were made to feel very welcome.What more could you want?Will definitely stay again, thank you.

Response

So good to receive those kind words. Glad that you felt at home during your week\'s stay.You are welcome any time.Best wishesMartin

Reviewer:Gill Vlahovic | Sat 13th Aug 2016


A Hidden Gem! - Rating 5/5

A characterful Inn with delightful people. Food was very tasty too. Everything about this place is charming. Recommended if you\'re looking for somewhere different that serves good quality food and offers a decent place to lay your head for the night. Thanks Martin. Your hospitality was outstanding.

Response

Many thanks, Jim, for your great comments. Very much look forward to welcoming you next time you are travelling this way.Have a good weekend.Martin Lloyd-Morris

Reviewer:Jim Bowie | Fri 12th Aug 2016


Sat 6th August - Rating 4/5

I had booked an overnight stay at the Cantelupe as my son was at Malvern college playing cricket. On our slightly early arrival we were warmly welcomed by Martin. Our room was up in the roof space and reminded my wife of our first cottage we lived in, but mind your head on the lovely original beams !Dinner in the evening was very well cooked food of a good quality and the wine list was good.After a good nights sleep the cooked breakfast was great and filled us up for another days cricket ahead.Martin cannot do enough for his guests and i would recommend The Walter de Cantelupe for a great stay.

Response

Dear Mr and Mrs Atkinson,A huge thank you for your kind words. Yes, you were lucky enough to stay in the only room with exposed original 17th century beams - a feature, only to some guests, modern motels miss ! Reviews of our service such as yours are extremely satisfying to receive and lets the staff and I know we are on the right track. Do try and take the opportunity to come and stay again. Perhaps in the autumn. The autumnal colours are a wonderful sight in the surrounding countryside. Best wishes,Martin and Staff.

Reviewer:Mark Atkinson | Tue 9th Aug 2016


a lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed here for just one night and I was delightedwith my choice of accommodation. I had a great room and a fantastic meal and was made to feel both welcome ad cared for.

Response

So glad you choose here to stay. Looking forward to extending our hospitality and service again soon. Kind regards, Martin and Staff

Reviewer:Sheena Hardwick | Sun 31st Jul 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely pub, very convenient and very welcoming. Really enjoyed the continental breakfast and would definitely stay again..

Response

Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to welcome you back at some stage soon. Best wishes,Martin Lloyd-Morris

Reviewer:Lisa Bracher | Mon 25th Jul 2016


Quirky in such a good way! - Rating 4/5

This is my second stay here and this time I had beer and dinner (which were all excellent) as it wasn\'t a Monday.The rooms are individually furnished and this time mine had a recently fitted shower room which was very pleasant.Bar and restaurant areas have plenty of cosy places to sit and conversation is cheerful!Parking is excellent and it\'s very easy to find. If commuting into Worcester for work, this is a handy location from which toaccess the city centre as some of the usual southern ring road traffic is avoided.

Response

Thank you so very much for your comments. As always, I and the staff are really interested in how our guests find the Inn and the service received. We continually work at making improvements whether it be a physicalaspect to the property or an element of the service so helpful feedback is extremely useful. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future. RegardsMartin Lloyd-Morris

Reviewer:Mr. M A RICHARDSON | Tue 19th Jul 2016


Mr - Rating 4/5

I warmly commend this establishment. We arrived late at nearly 11 p.m.(due to a road diversion) after saying we would be there between 9-10 p.m. but still received a warm welcome and a nightcap before turning in. The Proprietor was willing to provide a continental breakfast at 7 am to allow us to meet a commitment in Birmingham that morning.The place seems to be full of history which we would like to explore on another occasion.

Reviewer:Robin Davies | Thu 14th Jul 2016


Recent one night stay - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome and good food. Comfortable room and very convenient for Worcester in a nice quiet village. Lovely breakfast. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Everly Webber | Mon 27th Jun 2016


Welcome - Rating 4/5

Although we\'ve stayed here on numerous occasions the time between has often been lengthy, so it\'s really nice to be welcomed as friends by the landlord.The room prepared for us apparently had low beams and as my husband is tall, without showing us,we were swapped to another which was quickly changed from a singe to a double.Nothing was too much trouble.We would thoroughly recommend coming here as the food is great too.I would have given it 5 stars but the \'continental\' breakfast was a bit stingy;I had to ask for another piece of toast!

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine Snelling | Tue 14th Jun 2016


Walter de Cantelupe - Rating 5/5

As usual a warm welcome from both the Landlord and the fire!Five minutes from the M5 and a great stopover in a lovely rural village.Good food and accommodation.Will be back again in the near future.

Reviewer:Ms. Shane Honey | Sat 12th Mar 2016


Trip to Worcester Raceourse - Rating 5/5

Martin, the landlord, could not have done more to help even down to making us superb sandwiches and additionally finding us something excellent to eat at the end of a long day.The location is great, Martin is very knowledgeable about the history of the area ... a great stay and we would totally recommend.Thank you!

Reviewer:Joanna Wakefield | Fri 21st Aug 2015


Quirky and intimate but closed on Mondays! - Rating 3/5

Booked a one-night stay on a Monday night, pleased to find somewhere near Worcester with everything - real ale, dining and accommodation - all in one. Although the website states opening times to include Mondays, neither the kitchen nor the bar are open. I ended up getting a picnic from the nearby shop and the landlord kindly furnished me with a plate, serviette, cutlery and a glass.In the morning, there wasn\'t any hot water, just lukewarm, but the electric shower made up for that. I showered with the bathroom door open, though, as the lights had fused!The pictures make the Walter look bigger than it is- it really is cosy and I imagine than on a bustling evening with the fire going, it would be lovely. You will receive one of the warmest welcomes possible here from Martin, the landlord, who is a real landlord and not just an impersonal \'manager\'.

Reviewer:Mr. M A RICHARDSON | Fri 14th Aug 2015


Party with B&B- Rating 5/5

A lovely party with great food &good atmosphere, followed by comfy beds with lovely pillows (&I\'m fussy!) then a delicious full English breakfast......who could want more!! Thanks

Reviewer:Ms. Jane Bell | Mon 10th Aug 2015


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming, quaint and interesting.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It\'s always good to know that guests have enjoyed their stay.I do hope you will take advantage of one of our special offers for another stay here which we will publish in the next four or five weeks.

Reviewer:William Glass | Mon 4th May 2015